On so many levels, but for this blog post it is about the literal Eau de foreclosure.

I have been hitting the showing pavement very hard these last couple of weeks and have seen some phenomenal deals (what that means to me is houses that are a great value for their square footage, condition and amenities)–I have seen some “deals” at every price point. 

But I have no tolerance for the smelly foreclosures I have been seeing lately, no matter the deal!  I appreciate that the entire civilized world is out trying to save a buck right now,  but give me a break, wouldn’t it be money well spent and translate into a higher price for the property if many of the foreclosure properties could be at minimum cleaned up, cleaned out and stripped of offending odors?  Isn’t a empty canvas more palpable then a clearly disregarded and mistreated property?

So buyers beware–and bring a nose plug!  The foreclosure sale is a different sort of animal.  There are minimal safeguards in place to protect the buyers of foreclosure sales.  Read the fine print on the addenda before you sign, for that low, low bargain price you need to be handy and/or resourceful–and just as a little FYI, they are not wild about high time financing and  likely competitors are the contractor or investor with cash in hand–so deal seeking regular buyer get out early, get out fast.

Furthermore, information can be scarce and the foreclosure sale addendum not bestowed on the winner until after price has been negotiated.  But if the bargain deal is truly what you want, it shall be my mission as well.  I personally prefer a more level playing field for my buyers and the foreclosure sale only gives you a price advantage (and sometimes not even that)… it is buyer beware, as-is, where-is.

Like I said, foreclosures are stinking up our market.

